Books On Sale

Historical Mysteries & Contemporary Romances

  • Savannah’s Secrets

    Savannah’s Secrets by Reese Ryan

    Savannah’s Secrets by Reese Ryan is $1.99! This is a category romance and the first in a series. There are also workplace elements. This romance has been mentioned a few times on the site and I know we always talk about the amazing wardrobes on the Harlequin Desire line.

    Falling for the boss, or taking him down?

    Savannah Carlisle had the perfect plan. By infiltrating the Abbott family’s Tennessee bourbon empire as their events manager, she’d be one step closer to claiming half of the business they stole from her grandfather. Now she’s not so sure. Because sexy Blake Abbott, heir to it all, is simply intoxicating. He’s supposed to be the enemy. But after one long, stormy weekend, she’s pregnant with his child…

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:
    • Available at Amazon
    • Order this book from apple books

    • Barnes & Noble
    • Kobo

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake

    Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake by Alexis Hall

    RECOMMENDED: Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake by Alexis Hall is $1.99! Carrie and I jointly reviewed this one and agreed on a B+. As a bisexual woman, I definitely felt seen by this book and I’m here for all the baking romance reads.

    Fans of Casey McQuiston, Christina Lauren, and Abby Jimenez will love this scrumptious and sweet romantic comedy from the “dizzyingly talented writer” of Boyfriend Material (Entertainment Weekly)!

    Following the recipe is the key to a successful bake. Rosaline Palmer has always lived by those rules—well, except for when she dropped out of college to raise her daughter, Amelie. Now, with a paycheck as useful as greaseproof paper and a house crumbling faster than biscuits in tea, she’s teetering on the edge of financial disaster. But where there’s a whisk there’s a way . . . and Rosaline has just landed a spot on the nation’s most beloved baking show.

    Winning the prize money would give her daughter the life she deserves—and Rosaline is determined to stick to the instructions. However, more than collapsing trifles stand between Rosaline and sweet, sweet victory.  Suave, well-educated, and parent-approved Alain Pope knows all the right moves to sweep her off her feet, but it’s shy electrician Harry Dobson who makes Rosaline question her long-held beliefs—about herself, her family, and her desires.

    Rosaline fears falling for Harry is a guaranteed recipe for disaster. Yet as the competition—and the ovens—heat up, Rosaline starts to realize the most delicious bakes come from the heart.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:
    • Available at Amazon
    • Order this book from apple books

    • Barnes & Noble
    • Kobo

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • This Side of Murder

    This Side of Murder by Anna Lee Huber

    RECOMMENDED: This Side of Murder by Anna Lee Huber is 99c! Did you catch Huber on the podcast? Sarah has been a huge fan of Huber’s historical mysteries and had this to say:

    If you like smart, clever, extremely competent women sleuths with a handful of secrets and a crap ton of inner resilience this is a terrific start to a mystery series. Good for fans of Huber’s other series, and of historical mysteries.

    The Great War is over, but in this captivating new mystery from award-winning author Anna Lee Huber, one young widow discovers the real intrigue has only just begun . . .
     
    England, 1919. Verity Kent’s grief over the loss of her husband pierces anew when she receives a cryptic letter, suggesting her beloved Sidney may have committed treason before his untimely death. Determined to dull her pain with revelry, Verity’s first impulse is to dismiss the derogatory claim. But the mystery sender knows too much—including the fact that during the war, Verity worked for the Secret Service, something not even Sidney knew.

    Lured to Umbersea Island to attend the engagement party of one of Sidney’s fellow officers, Verity mingles among the men her husband once fought beside, and discovers dark secrets—along with a murder clearly meant to conceal them. Relying on little more than a coded letter, the help of a dashing stranger, and her own sharp instincts, Verity is forced down a path she never imagined—and comes face to face with the shattering possibility that her husband may not have been the man she thought he was. It’s a truth that could set her free—or draw her ever deeper into his deception . . .

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:
    • Available at Amazon
    • Order this book from apple books

    • Barnes & Noble
    • Kobo

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • The Start of Something Good

    The Start of Something Good by Jennifer Probst

    The Start of Something Good by Jennifer Probst is 99c! An enemies to lovers contemporary, this one is the first in a new series. Readers loved the tension and chemistry between the main characters. However, others wanted more obstacles for the couple to overcome.

    An enriching story of family ties, broken hearts, and second chances from New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Probst.

    When Ethan Bishop returns to the Hudson Valley, his body and spirit are a little worse for wear. As a former Special Forces paratrooper, he saw his fair share of conflict, and he came home with wounds, inside and out. At his sisters’ B & B and farm, he can keep all his pain at a safe distance. But quiet time isn’t easy when a fiery woman explodes into his life…

    It’s business—not pleasure—that brings Manhattan PR agent Mia Thrush reluctantly to the farm. Tightly wound and quick tempered, Mia clashes immediately with the brooding Ethan. Everything about him is irritating—from his lean muscles and piercing blue eyes to his scent of sweat and musk.

    But as the summer unfolds and temperatures rise, Ethan and Mia discover how much they have in common: their guarded histories, an uncontrollable desire, and a passion for the future that could heal two broken hearts. But will their pasts threaten their fragile chance at a brand-new future?

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:
    • Available at Amazon

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

Don't want to miss an ebook sale? Sign up for our newsletter, and you'll get the week's available deals each Friday.

Add Your Comment →

  1. Msb says:

    “Carrying his child” is such a weird expression. Like you found a fetus in the supermarket and are toting it about in a basket …

  2. Lisa F says:

    The Hall is my fave, but the Ryan has been on my to-buy list for awhile, so yoink!

  3. Qualisign says:

    Actually really disliked the Hall. In my (admittedly poor recall), all the characters in the book just needed to attend counseling and/or anger management courses. The primary characters seemed to be a bunch of entitled people feeling entitled — and lustful in all senses of that word. It may have been better than I remember it, but the “carrying his child” was the least annoying piece of baggage in the book. YMMV. Just saying…

  4. Qualisign says:

    Drat. It was the Ryan that was rant worthy, not the Hall. And forgive the wandering right parenthesis in what should have been “my (admittedly poor) recall.” Karma strikes again.

  5. Another Anne says:

    I really enjoyed the Probst. The book is set in the Hudson Valley and there is lots of good local detail. This is something that I appreciate. There are also rescue animals at the farm, including a rooster. It seems to me that some of the animals were named for characters in Disney movies — but I might be mixing this one up with another book. It is low on angst and just what I needed at the time.

  6. cleo says:

    I’m a long time Alexis Hall fan and I was very excited about the bi rep, but I DNF’d Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake after 3 or 4 chapters. I just couldn’t handle how self-consciously clever and self-deprecating the narrator was. Read the sample.

  7. Erin says:

    I DNF’d Rosaline Palmer after a few chapters, but was recently convinced to give it another try. It’s definitely got some heavy themes (which I wouldn’t have guessed based on the cover or even the blurb) and I don’t know if I’d call it a sweet romantic comedy (maybe the last few chapters!), but in the end I was really glad that I gave it a second chance. I think the key for me was reading it as a story about Rosaline, reminding herself of her values, priorities, and boundaries. There is (spoiler here) a sexual assault, but I felt it was treated with care and was immensely powerful to see people right away believing the heroine with no pressure to forgive the perpetrator. Knowing a bit more about what the book was (and wasn’t) let me go in with adjusted expectations and like I said, I’m really glad I did.

  8. Susan/DC says:

    I also DNF’d Rosaline Palmer after a few chapters because I thoroughly disliked how she lies to Alain when she first meets him. I understand that, in the end, he’s not the hero (far from it), but she doesn’t know that at first. My feeling was that if a hero had so misrepresented himself, we’d be all over him, and I didn’t like that the heroine was allowed to get away with it. As Erin points out, the story may be more about Rosaline’s character arc and her learning to respect herself enough so she doesn’t feel the need to lie, but I’d lost patience and interest and so never finished the book.

Add Your Comment

Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By posting a comment, you consent to have your personally identifiable information collected and used in accordance with our privacy policy.

↑ Back to Top