Books On Sale

Sci-Fi, Seanan McGuire, & More

  • Meddling and Murder

    Meddling and Murder by Ovidia Yu

    Meddling and Murder by Ovidia Yu is 99c! This his a cozy mystery, though I’m unsure which installment this one is in the Aunty Lee Mystery series. Some places say it’s #1 in one series, while others say it’s #4 in another. I know Sarah has really enjoyed Yu’s Crown Colony series.

    A delightfully warm and witty mystery from one of Singapore’s best-known and most acclaimed writers, perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith’s NO. 1 LADIES’ DETECTIVE AGENCY.

    Aunty Lee is on the case!

    There is nothing Rosie ‘Aunty’ Lee, amateur sleuth and proprietor of Singapore’s best-loved restaurant, loves more than solving other people’s problems. So when Beth Kwuan, an ambitious businesswoman, tells Aunty Lee her maid has disappeared, Aunty Lee is happy to let her own maid, Nina, help.

    Only as the weeks go by, little clues make Aunty Lee worry. And as she digs into what is really going on behind the closed doors of Beth’s grand house, she starts to wonder—did Beth’s maid just run away, or did she meet a darker fate?

    Now the race is on for Aunty Lee to get to the bottom of the mystery…and save Nina before it’s too late!

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:
    • Available at Amazon

    • Barnes & Noble
    • Kobo

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • Every Heart a Doorway

    Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

    Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire is $2.99! I love this series. The writing is so beautiful and I would happily send 300+ pages in the world McGuire has created. However, I will warn that these books have a haunting sadness to them and as romance readers, the HEAs we love aren’t the HEAs the characters want. (If that makes any sense without spoiling.)

    Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
    No Solicitations
    No Visitors
    No Quests

    Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else.

    But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

    Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

    But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

    No matter the cost.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:
    • Available at Amazon

    • Barnes & Noble
    • Kobo

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • Cemetery Boys

    Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

    Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas is $2.99! Ellen mentioned this in a previous Hide Your Wallet and I’ve heard such great things about this book. Thomas has also been on a a few panels I’ve watched. Have any of you read this one yet? Do you agree with all the positive reviews?

    A trans boy determined to prove he’s a brujo to his Latinx family summons a ghost who refuses to leave in Aiden Thomas’s paranormal YA debut.

    Yadriel has summoned a ghost, and now he can’t get rid of him.

    Bestowed by the ancient goddess of death, Yadriel and the gifted members of his Latinx community can see spirits: women have the power to heal bodies and souls, while men can release lost spirits to the afterlife. But Yadriel, a trans boy, has never been able to perform the tasks of the brujas – because he is a brujo.

    When his cousin suddenly dies, Yadriel becomes determined to prove himself a real brujo. With the help of his cousin and best friend Maritza, he performs the ritual himself, and then sets out to find the ghost of his murdered cousin and set it free.

    However, the ghost he summons is not his cousin. It’s Julian Diaz, the resident bad boy of his high school, and Julian is not about to go quietly into death. He’s determined to find out what happened and tie off some loose ends before he leaves.

    Left with no choice, Yadriel agrees to help Julian, so that they can both get what they want. But the longer Yadriel spends with Julian, the less he wants to let him leave.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:
    • Available at Amazon

    • Barnes & Noble
    • Kobo

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • Planetfall

    Planetfall by Emma Newman

    Planetfall by Emma Newman is $1.99! This is the first book in a sci-fi series of the same name and features a cast of queer women. I remember getting the hole series for cheap on Book Outlet, but like most books I buy, they go on the shelf and are quickly forgotten.

    From the award-nominated author Emma Newman, comes a novel of how one secret withheld to protect humanity’s future might be its undoing…

    Renata Ghali believed in Lee Suh-Mi’s vision of a world far beyond Earth, calling to humanity. A planet promising to reveal the truth about our place in the cosmos, untainted by overpopulation, pollution, and war. Ren believed in that vision enough to give up everything to follow Suh-Mi into the unknown.

    More than twenty-two years have passed since Ren and the rest of the faithful braved the starry abyss and established a colony at the base of an enigmatic alien structure where Suh-Mi has since resided, alone. All that time, Ren has worked hard as the colony’s 3-D printer engineer, creating the tools necessary for human survival in an alien environment, and harboring a devastating secret.

    Ren continues to perpetuate the lie forming the foundation of the colony for the good of her fellow colonists, despite the personal cost. Then a stranger appears, far too young to have been part of the first planetfall, a man who bears a remarkable resemblance to Suh-Mi.

    The truth Ren has concealed since planetfall can no longer be hidden. And its revelation might tear the colony apart…

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:
    • Available at Amazon

    • Barnes & Noble
    • Kobo

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

Don't want to miss an ebook sale? Sign up for our newsletter, and you'll get the week's available deals each Friday.

Comments are Closed

  1. Sujata says:

    The Ovidia Yu book is #4 and the latest in the series. I really enjoy these books as there’s so much about the social and cultural history of Singapore in addition to the mystery elements.

  2. Darlynne says:

    “… but like most books I buy, they go on the shelf and are quickly forgotten.”

    Gah! Is there a cure for this? Do I want one? Definitely another flaw in my character. I have a tea towel with a quote from Lemony Snicket: It is likely I will die next to a pile of things I was meaning to read.” No one gets out alive, right?

  3. cleo says:

    I really loved Cemetery Boys! I gave it 4/5 stars on GoodReads. Immersive, absorbing queer ya urban fantasy with a huge range of pop culture references – some I got and some I didn’t.

    The characters are fun and funny and aware that their lives have suddenly become something out of a teen supernatural mystery – arguing over who gets to be Velma (from Scooby Do).

    It’s a lovely coming of age story and queer teen romance.

  4. DiscoDollyDeb says:

    @Darlynne: I can’t count the number of times I see a book that looks interesting and when I go to download it from the Kindle Store, Amazon tells me “You purchased this book on (date).” How do I forget all these books, sitting unread on my kindle? Oh yeah—because I’m always adding more!

  5. Kris Bock says:

    Felony Melanie in the Big Smashup: A Sweet Home Alabama romantic comedy novel is 99c on Amazon to Sep.12 (free in KU).

    The guys don’t want a girl intruding on their turf. Melanie recruits some helpers and unearths an old, junked car, but everyone from Jake to the sheriff wants to keep her off the track.

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0881KGDGW

    Book one is available on other retailers for $4.99.

  6. LisaM says:

    I am a fan of both of Ovidia Yu’s series, and I keep thinking there’s going to be a connection between Aunty Lee and Su Lin’s stories.

  7. Emily C says:

    @Sujata and LisaM- can the Aunty Lee books be read out of order? Amazon has them listed as different series (books 1-3 have different covers and aren’t on sale right now) and I’m wondering if I can start with Book 4.

  8. LisaM says:

    @Emily C, there are some relationships that have built across the first three books, and a slow moving romance. I think you would miss some of the context and nuances, though as I remember the author fills in a bit of background.

  9. Kris says:

    I’ve started Aunty Lee’s Delights by Ovidia Yu because I just need to read something different that isn’t romance.

  10. Susan/DC says:

    @Darlynne: I bought a mug yesterday that relates to this:

    “Me: See, I can fit all my books in a single box.
    Them: You have to stop calling your house a box.”

  11. Kelly says:

    I cannot say enough good things about the Wayward Children series. I might love it even more than Incryptid, which is saying a lot. It’s just… it’s beautiful in the way I dreamed life would be, which might not make any sense. And it captures that feeling of being oh so out of sync with place, with people, and knowing that isn’t the way things should be, but the way they are.

  12. Qualisign says:

    @Darlynne: The thirteenth and final book, THE END, in Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events is one of my all time favorites. Period. THE END. So much unexpected wisdom in those books. Thanks for the reminder.

Comments are closed.

By posting a comment, you consent to have your personally identifiable information collected and used in accordance with our privacy policy.

↑ Back to Top