Featured

New Update! – Solidarity with the Harper Collins Union Strike

NEW: HarperCollins has agreed to enter mediation. Meanwhile, we will not promote, review, or feature any Harper Collins title until an agreement with the union has been reached.

Books On Sale

Chocolate, Loretta Chase, & More

Books on Sale: You Sexy Thing by Cat Rambo & More

RECOMMENDED: You Sexy Thing by Cat Rambo is $2.99! Carrie read this one and gave it a B+:

I recommend this for fans of Farscape, Firefly, complicated relationships, and cooking shows. If found family and food are your thing, you will like this book, although please be aware that the lighthearted tone takes a temporary swivel into scary and sad when the pirates get involved.

Continue reading →

Podcast

546. Love and Mayhem with Ali Hazelwood

Ali Hazelwood has a new anthology in print, Loathe to Love You, and she joins me to talk about becoming a full-time writer and the development of the novellas in this anthology. And then I hit her with a series of silly questions. Woo hoo! Bring on the mayhem. Music: purple-planet.com  

Books On Sale

Dukes, Sci-Fi, & More

Books on Sale: If the Shoe Fits by Julie Murphy & More

If the Shoe Fits by Julie Murphy is $1.99! This came out in August and is a Cinderella-inspired retelling. It also has a reality show element. I’m very excited about this updated Disney princess series. The next one will be written by Jasmine Guillory and is a Beauty & the Beast retelling.

Continue reading →

Guest Post: I asked ChatGPT to Outline a Christmas RomCom

Featured image for Guest Post: I asked ChatGPT to Outline a Christmas RomCom

Jeevani Charika writes romcoms and women’s fiction about smart women and nice guy heroes, some of whom happen to be South Asian. She also writes romcoms as Rhoda Baxter. Her latest is Picture Perfect. Jeevani can be found on her website or on Twitter (@rhodabaxter). … I asked ChatGPT to outline a Christmas romcom – here’s what happened. There’s been quite a lot of interest in ChatGPT and some talk about how it’s going to … Continue reading Guest Post: I asked ChatGPT to Outline a Christmas RomCom

Links: Witches, Fashion, & More

Workspace with computer, journal, books, coffee, and glasses.

Hello, everyone! It’s time for Wednesday Links! By the time you’re reading this, I’ll be on my way home for Orlando. I built a lightsaber at Galaxy’s Edge on Monday and my partner and I ate and drank our way around the world at Epcot on Tuesday. I’m sure there are photos on my instagram account (I’m writing this ahead of time! Hello from the past!). I also mentioned in a previous podcast that I’m … Continue reading Links: Witches, Fashion, & More

Book Review

Lizzie Blake’s Best Mistake by Mazey Eddings

Lizzie Blake’s Best Mistake

Lizzie Blake’s Best Mistake is a classic example of how a book that is otherwise OK can be utterly ruined by a few sentences near the end. If this review seems compartmentalized, it’s because the book has a lot of compartments, some of which are filled with great stuff (hot sex, self-actualization) and some of which are terrible (unfortunate implications about abortion). I’m going to deal with the terrible first so you don’t have to … Continue reading Lizzie Blake’s Best Mistake by Mazey Eddings

Stuff We Like: “It Makes Life Easier.”

Stuff We Like It Makes LIfe Easier with a picture of a blanket, some socks, and a scanner

It’s time for another edition of Stuff We Like! This month: a few things that have made my life easier, including one I bought in 2011 and is still going. Want to see? Just click that image above or click right here, and come shop with us! And if you’d like to browse some more, we have a complete Stuff We Like archive, including past Gift Guides and other posts of our favorite items.

Books On Sale

Joy, Puppies, Luck, and Dragons!

Books on Sale: Black Boy Joy by Kwame Mbalia & More

Black Boy Joy: 17 Stories Celebrating Black Boyhood, edited by Kwame Mbalia, is $1.99 as a KDD. This book was an immediate NYT bestseller, and is an anthology of stories with an intended audience of ages 9 and up. There are fantasy stories, comics, and poems from 17 Black male and non-binary authors. It has a 4+ star average on Goodreads, and I have just purchased a few copies as gifts.

Continue reading →

Help A Bitch Out - SOLVED!

HaBO: Hero Pretends to Be the Boyfriend of the Heroine’s Sister

This HaBO request is from Tara, who hopes to find this contemporary romance: I read this book in the early nineties. (I know!) It’s one of those books that’s always stuck with me, and I’d love to reread it again. What I remember: – It was a contemporary romance. – The heroine lives in an old house that she loves, but the house costs a lot of money to maintain. Her father and two siblings … Continue reading HaBO: Hero Pretends to Be the Boyfriend of the Heroine’s Sister

Books On Sale

Mercy Thompson, Commissario Brunetti, and More

Books on Sale: Night Broken by Patricia Briggs & More

Night Broken by Patricia Briggs is $2.99! This is book eight in the Mercy Thompson series, which is a re-reading favorite among many, including people in my house who aren’t me. This book has a 4.4 star average (wow!) on GoodReads, too. If you’re looking to fill in your Mercy collection, here’s a great opportunity.

Continue reading →

Book Review

The Boxing Baroness by Minerva Spencer

The Boxing Baroness

To my great delight, The Boxing Baroness is about a female prize fighter in Regency England, and yes, that was a thing. This sumptuous historical romance has great characters and a swooping, gorgeous romance. The plot gets a little wonky but overall I enjoyed this book. Marianne was adopted as a small child by her uncle who owns a small traveling all-female circus. It has the fabulous name ‘Farnham’s Fantastical Female Fayre.’ Marianne was sent … Continue reading The Boxing Baroness by Minerva Spencer

↑ Back to Top