Search Results for: "Rachel Lynn Solomon"
Book Review

Business or Pleasure by Rachel Lynn Solomon

Business or Pleasure

Business or Pleasure is a sex-positive, low-conflict celebrity rom com that worked out great for me. I think a lot of readers will enjoy this book (especially the sex positivity!), but it won’t work for anyone looking for angst. Chandler Cohen wanted to be a writer since she was child, but she chose to focus on journalism rather than creative writing in college because it seemed like a safer bet. Now that there are fewer … Continue reading Business or Pleasure by Rachel Lynn Solomon

Podcast

570. Sex Positivity with Lana Ferguson and Rachel Lynn Solomon

In Rachel Lynn Solomon’s newest book Business or Pleasure and in Lana Ferguson’s new book The Nanny, both authors engage directly with sex positivity and honest intimacy through their characters and the plot. I’ll let the authors describe their books, but we’re talking about sex lessons where the heroine is teaching the hero how to be better at sex after a terrible one night stand, about “only one bed over and over,” about OnlyFans and … Continue reading 570. Sex Positivity with Lana Ferguson and Rachel Lynn Solomon

Book Review

Weather Girl by Rachel Lynn Solomon

Weather Girl

Weather Girl is a rom-com that manages to stay sweet and funny despite tackling some serious subject matter. I found this book to be charming and relatable, and I especially enjoyed the mature communication between the two leads. Ari Abrams loves being a meteorologist, but hates the constant conflict between her boss (the weather reporter, Torrance Hale), and Torrance’s ex (Seth, the station director). After a particularly awful and grossly unprofessional fight between Torrance and … Continue reading Weather Girl by Rachel Lynn Solomon

SBTB Media Archive

Summer Nights and Meteorites

Summer Nights and Meteorites

From the two-time Sydney Taylor Honor author comes another sweet Nantucket-set summer romance, perfect for fans of Rachel Lynn Solomon and K.L. Walther. Jordan Edelman’s messy dating days are over. After a few too many broken hearts, and a father who worries a bit too much, she’s sworn off boys—at least for the summer. And since she’ll be tagging along on her father’s research trip to Nantucket, she doesn’t think it’ll be too hard to … Continue reading Summer Nights and Meteorites

The Rec League: Rivals to Lovers

The Rec League - heart shaped chocolate resting on the edge of a very old book

This Rec League is from Christy! I’ve been in a reading slump of several “enemies to lovers” and I have DNF’ed the past 4 books in a row. I have found this trope can be weighed down by too much bickering, immaturity (especially in a professional context!), conflict that could be resolved with a conversation, or a main character lying or omitting the truth. I find all of these to be tedious, and I jump … Continue reading The Rec League: Rivals to Lovers

The Rec League: Time Loops

Featured image for The Rec League: Time Loops

This Rec League comes from our SBTB Patreon Discord, from user LyricLorelei: Does anyone have any good time loop story recs? Or things with showing multiple options/versions of life choices? Amanda: There were a bunch of great recs in the Discord, but I thought opening it up to the larger community would be even better. We had a Rec League on Dual Timelines that may have some overlap here. Elyse:  Yes! The Darkness Outside Us  … Continue reading The Rec League: Time Loops

SBTB Media Archive

Bend Toward the Sun

Bend Toward the Sun

“Heart-warming, sensual, beautifully written.” –Ali Hazelwood, New York Times bestselling author of The Love Hypothesis Two imperfect people. One year under the sun. A love story you won’t ever forget. Rowan McKinnon doesn’t believe in love. With a botany PhD, two best friends who embrace her social quirkiness, and some occasional no-strings sex, she has everything she needs. But she hides deep wounds from the past—from a negligent mother, and a fiancé who treated her like a pawn … Continue reading Bend Toward the Sun

Whatcha Reading? January 2021 Edition, Part Two

Cozy winter still life: cup of hot coffee and book with warm plaid on windowsill against snow landscape from outside.

Welcome back to Whatcha Reading! Hope this week has lifted your spirits in some way, with or without some good book noises. Here’s what we’ve been reading lately: Carrie: I just started Fugitive Telemetry by Martha Wells and also Metazoa: Animal Life and the Birth of the Mind by Peter Godrey-Smith. Shana: I’m reading Big Friendship: How We Keep Each Other Close by Aminatou Sow and Ann Friedman, the hosts of the Call Your Girlfriend … Continue reading Whatcha Reading? January 2021 Edition, Part Two

SBTB Media Archive

The Ex Talk

The Ex Talk

Public radio co-hosts navigate mixed signals in Rachel Lynn Solomon’s sparkling romantic comedy debut. Shay Goldstein has been a producer at her Seattle public radio station for nearly a decade, and she can’t imagine working anywhere else. But lately it’s been a constant clash between her and her newest colleague, Dominic Yun, who’s fresh off a journalism master’s program and convinced he knows everything about public radio. When the struggling station needs a new concept, … Continue reading The Ex Talk