Search Results for: "Evie Dunmore"
Book Review

A Rogue of One’s Own by Evie Dunmore

A Rogue of One’s Own

This is a painful, difficult review to write, as I have to face the uncomfortable truth that I was initially too focused on the book’s glittery bits (amplified by my own excitement around the history of the women’s suffrage movement) to question, deeply or fast enough, its many hurtful messages. A Rogue of One’s Own held my attention, and that is to say a lot these days. I was happy to return to the early … Continue reading A Rogue of One’s Own by Evie Dunmore

Book Review

Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore

Bringing Down the Duke

Bringing Down the Duke is a historical romance set in England in 1879. It involves the early days of the women’s suffrage movement, so basically I’m all, “You had me at suffrage movement.” Every time they focused on romance drama instead of suffrage drama I got all sad but then cheered up because the romance was very good. This story excels in terms of entertaining characters, and I’d love to see a spin-off story about almost … Continue reading Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore

SBTB Media Archive

An Earl, the Girl, and a Toddler

An Earl, the Girl, and a Toddler

A witty and moving story from the acclaimed author of A Duke, the Lady, and a Baby, about the lengths to which a woman will go for the love of her child…and the love of a man who knows her worth. Breaking with traditional Regency rules and customs, Vanessa Riley pens an unforgettable story perfect for fans of Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore, and Eloisa James looking for something fresh and stirring! Masterminded by the ton’s … Continue reading An Earl, the Girl, and a Toddler

SBTB Media Archive

To Love and to Loathe

To Love and to Loathe

The author of the “hilarious…joyful, elegant” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) To Have and to Hoax returns with an effervescent, charming, and swoon-worthy novel about a man and woman who never agree on anything—until they agree to a no-strings-attached affair in this Regency-era romp. The widowed Diana, Lady Templeton and Jeremy, Marquess of Willingham are infamous among English high society as much for their sharp-tongued bickering as their flirtation. One evening, an argument at a ball turns into a … Continue reading To Love and to Loathe

Best of 2020 Reviews, Part Two!

NB: This week, we’re taking a look back at 2020. We’ve got a week of best-of posts to share, with reviews, cover snark, sales, and more. We hope you enjoy revisiting our archives, and most of all, we wish you and yours a wonderful holiday and a happy new year – with all the very best of reading. … I really enjoyed seeing all of your guesses in the comments of yesterday’s half of the … Continue reading Best of 2020 Reviews, Part Two!

SBTB Media Archive

A Lady’s Guide to Mischief and Mayhem

A Lady’s Guide to Mischief and Mayhem

An intrepid female reporter matches wits with a serious, sexy detective in award-winning author Manda Collin’s fun and flirty historical rom-com, perfect for readers of Evie Dunmore, Julia Quinn, and Tessa Dare! England, 1865 : As one of England’s most notorious newspaper columnists, Lady Katherine Bascomb believes knowledge is power. And she’s determined to inform and educate the ladies of London on the nefarious-and deadly-criminals who are praying on the fairer sex. When her reporting leads … Continue reading A Lady’s Guide to Mischief and Mayhem

Whatcha Reading? August 2020 Edition, Part One

Young woman reading book and eating sushi

Is it that time already? I suppose that’s what happens when the month starts on a Saturday. Let’s get right into the book talk! Claudia: I just finished A Rogue of One’s Own by Evie Dunmore and I really liked it! I had been saving this one for so, so long (I got an ARC long ago) and for once I wasn’t disappointed. There were some issues that felt unresolved, but for the most part … Continue reading Whatcha Reading? August 2020 Edition, Part One

Whatcha Reading? July 2020 Edition, Part One

Bath tub with flower petals and lemon slices. Book, candles and beauty product on a tray. Organic spa relaxation in luxury Bali outdoor bathroom.

I had to double check and see if it was the first or second Whatcha Reading post of the month. But as Sarah and I like to remind ourselves lately: time has no meaning. Anyway, let’s get into the books! Shana: I’m reading Get Well Soon by Jennifer Wright, which is an irreverent history of plagues. I started it ages ago, after Aarya recommended it, but the library stole it back before I could finish. … Continue reading Whatcha Reading? July 2020 Edition, Part One

Recommendations for The Ripped Bodice’s 2020 Summer Romance Bingo

The Ripped Bodice is back with another round of Summer Romance Bingo. Visit their site for a printable bingo card and rules on how to win prizes! We’ll be playing along in our Goodreads group and helping one another out with recommendations. You can also follow The Ripped Bodice on Twitter for more recs. If you’re not on Goodreads, that’s okay! We’ll be giving some suggestions here and opening it up to the Bitchery for further … Continue reading Recommendations for The Ripped Bodice’s 2020 Summer Romance Bingo

Cover Awe: Dreamy Cuddle Groves

Featured image for Cover Awe: Dreamy Cuddle Groves

I don’t think we’ve had a Cover Awe in a minute! This is where we keep the snarking to a minimum and share covers with elements we like. Artist credit: Gregg Gulbronson Designer credit: Amy Halperin Amanda: I might be the minority but I like this cover. I’m also biased when a hero has chest hair. Elyse: I do enjoy a hirsute man. Amanda: And I just like the whole “secret cuddle grove in the … Continue reading Cover Awe: Dreamy Cuddle Groves

Whatcha Reading? August 2019 Edition, Part One

Illustration of magic opened book covered with grass trees and waterfall surround by ocean. Fantasy world, imaginary view. Book, tree of life concept. Original beautiful screen saver

We’re reading so many books this month and our discussion is full of good book noises! Shana: I just finished Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore , which I loved. Thank goodness for Claudia’s timely recommendation when I needed a book for a long flight. I was planning on reading Hollywood Homicide next —not the truly terrible Harrison Ford movie from 2003—this is a mystery about a Black crime-solving actress in L.A. But the … Continue reading Whatcha Reading? August 2019 Edition, Part One

SBTB Media Archive

Bringing Down the Duke

Bringing Down the Duke

A stunning debut for author Evie Dunmore and her Oxford Rebels, in which a fiercely independent vicar’s daughter takes on a duke in a fiery love story that threatens to upend the British social order. England, 1879. Annabelle Archer, the brilliant but destitute daughter of a country vicar, has earned herself a place among the first cohort of female students at the renowned University of Oxford. In return for her scholarship, she must support the rising … Continue reading Bringing Down the Duke