Search Results for: "Evie Dunmore"
Book Review

The Gentleman’s Gambit by Evie Dunmore

The Gentleman’s Gambit

I know a book is depressing when a) the sex scenes don’t perk things up and b) I need to comfort read Murderbot to feel okay about life again. Catriona Campbell is a suffragist and an academic. She has a belter of a start in this book as she emerges from a loch nude and there’s a man birding on the shores. Legitimately birding, and therefore utterly flummoxed by her appearance. Catriona is defiant and … Continue reading The Gentleman’s Gambit by Evie Dunmore

Book Review

A Rogue of One’s Own by Evie Dunmore

A Rogue of One’s Own

This is a painful, difficult review to write, as I have to face the uncomfortable truth that I was initially too focused on the book’s glittery bits (amplified by my own excitement around the history of the women’s suffrage movement) to question, deeply or fast enough, its many hurtful messages. A Rogue of One’s Own held my attention, and that is to say a lot these days. I was happy to return to the early … Continue reading A Rogue of One’s Own by Evie Dunmore

Book Review

Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore

Bringing Down the Duke

Bringing Down the Duke is a historical romance set in England in 1879. It involves the early days of the women’s suffrage movement, so basically I’m all, “You had me at suffrage movement.” Every time they focused on romance drama instead of suffrage drama I got all sad but then cheered up because the romance was very good. This story excels in terms of entertaining characters, and I’d love to see a spin-off story about almost … Continue reading Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore

SBTB Media Archive

Lady Scandal

Lady Scandal

From a New York Times bestselling author comes a dazzling Victorian romance featuring a haughty businessman and the headstrong event planner who steals his heart—perfect for fans of Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore, and Amalie Howard! Delia Stratham is an unconventional woman. While other ladies learned proper decorum at finishing school, she composed naughty limericks and admired the gardener’s muscular legs. So naturally when she’s widowed for the third time, she does the unthinkable: she gets a … Continue reading Lady Scandal

SBTB Media Archive

The Lady He Lost

The Lady He Lost

Her only interest is in making her own way in the world. Luckily, he can help. Lieutenant Eli Williams was supposed to be dead. In the two years since his shipwreck, his friends and family mourned him, his brother spent his savings, and his fiancée married someone else. So, when he turns up in the middle of the London social season, he quickly becomes the talk of the town. All Eli wants is to set … Continue reading The Lady He Lost

SBTB Media Archive

To Marry and to Meddle

To Marry and to Meddle

The “sweet, sexy, and utterly fun” (Emily Henry, author of The People We Meet on Vacation) Regency Vows series continues with a witty, charming, and joyful novel following a seasoned debutante and a rakish theater owner as they navigate a complicated marriage of convenience. Lady Emily Turner has been a debutante for six seasons now and should have long settled into a suitable marriage. However, due to her father’s large debts, her only suitor is the … Continue reading To Marry and to Meddle

SBTB Media Archive

An Heiress’s Guide to Deception and Desire

An Heiress’s Guide to Deception and Desire

Former lovers become reluctant allies in this delightfully witty historical rom-com from the bestselling author of A Lady’s Guide to Mischief and Mayhem—for fans of Evie Dunmore, Enola Holmes, and Netflix’s Bridgerton! England, 1867 : As half of the writing duo behind England’s most infamous crime column, Miss Caroline Hardcastle has quite the scandalous reputation. It may have cost her a fiancé, but she would much rather bring attention to crimes against those ignored by society than worry about … Continue reading An Heiress’s Guide to Deception and Desire

Whatcha Reading? November 2021, Part One

The woman in yellow coat jeans and boots sitting under the maple tree with a red book and cup of coffee or tea in fall city park on a warm day. Autumn golden leaves. Reading concept. Close up.

It’s November! And the holiday season and food comas are on marching toward us. Are you the type to dive into the fervor of the season, or more likely to curl up with a book and shun all contact? Shana: I’m in the middle of Tempest by Beverly Jenkins. It might be my favorite Jenkins! It’s definitely has my new favorite Jenkins couple. The book opens with a fiery mail order bride shooting her intended, … Continue reading Whatcha Reading? November 2021, Part One

SBTB Media Archive

An Earl, the Girl, and a Toddler

An Earl, the Girl, and a Toddler

A witty and moving story from the acclaimed author of A Duke, the Lady, and a Baby, about the lengths to which a woman will go for the love of her child…and the love of a man who knows her worth. Breaking with traditional Regency rules and customs, Vanessa Riley pens an unforgettable story perfect for fans of Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore, and Eloisa James looking for something fresh and stirring! Masterminded by the ton’s … Continue reading An Earl, the Girl, and a Toddler

SBTB Media Archive

To Love and to Loathe

To Love and to Loathe

The author of the “hilarious…joyful, elegant” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) To Have and to Hoax returns with an effervescent, charming, and swoon-worthy novel about a man and woman who never agree on anything—until they agree to a no-strings-attached affair in this Regency-era romp. The widowed Diana, Lady Templeton and Jeremy, Marquess of Willingham are infamous among English high society as much for their sharp-tongued bickering as their flirtation. One evening, an argument at a ball turns into a … Continue reading To Love and to Loathe