Search Results for: "Anna Richland"
RITA Reader Challenge Review

His Road Home by Anna Richland

His Road Home

My first impressions of “His Road Home” were as follows: If the blurb is to be believed, there is A LOT going on in this story.  It’s going to have to be pretty tightly constructed to fit that much plot into a novella. Catnip alert – I cannot resist a wounded protagonist.  I’m especially vulnerable to a wounded hero, but I’ll take a wounded heroine as well (especially if there’s a caretaker alpha involved). OMG, … Continue reading His Road Home by Anna Richland

Giveaway: His Road Home by Anna Richland

Featured image for Giveaway: His Road Home by Anna Richland

Maybe you heard Carrie talk about His Road Home on a recent podcast, or maybe you read her review in which she goes into all the reasons why she loved this novella, but the short answer is, she loved it a lot, and Anna Richland has offered us 10 copies to give away. These are from Carina Press, so they're DRM-free and minty-fresh. Sound good?  Excellent!  You can enter to win here:  a Rafflecopter giveaway And … Continue reading Giveaway: His Road Home by Anna Richland

Book Review

His Road Home by Anna Richland

His Road Home by Anna Richland

I loved His Road Home SO DAMN MUCH.  This is a novella that excels across the board – great characters, great writing, great story, and excellent construction.  It’s hard to cram a romance into a novella and have it feel fully developed but this one uses some clever tricks to tell a long story in a short space. His Road Home is a contemporary and although I don’t read many contemporaries I had to read … Continue reading His Road Home by Anna Richland

The Rec League: Setting the Autumn Mood

The Rec League - heart shaped chocolate resting on the edge of a very old book

As part of our continuing week of fall and Halloween excitement, we want to know which books get your in the mood for autumn! Sarah: A recent comment on the review I wrote for Spellbinding Love asked for more “cozy witch romances” which I realized is one of my favorite types of paranormal romances. I’d recommend Slouch Witch by Helen Harper , and Lauren Dane’s Diablo Lake series, which is about a secret town with … Continue reading The Rec League: Setting the Autumn Mood

Books On Sale

A Carina Coupon, Plus Blue Covers with Backless Dresses, Guitars, & Motorcyles

Books on Sale: Starlight by Carrie Lofty & More

Starlight by Carrie Lofty is $1.99! And gosh, do I love this cover. This is the second book in the Christies historical romance series. The hero is an astronomer and the heroine has to play tour guide and show him around Scotland. A couple reviews on Goodreads recommend this for fans of North & South. (I personally prefer the BBC series over the book, which features a young Richard Armitage and is a series I highly recommend.) However, some felt the romance was a little rushed. Has anyone read this one?

Continue reading →

DABWAHA Category Breakdown

Featured image for DABWAHA Category Breakdown

It’s that time of year again and we’re pleased to announce the books featured in seven out of our eight categories! Our categories this year are Contemporary, Historical, Novella, Series/Category, Paranormal/Fantasy/SciFi,  YA/NA, and Novel with Strong Romantic Elements. The eighth category will be filled with the top eight books as nominated by you. Yup. You nominate the books you think should be included that aren’t listed right now. If you’re looking to nominate a book, fill out the form … Continue reading DABWAHA Category Breakdown

Friday Videos Like Pythagoras Switch

Featured image for Friday Videos Like Pythagoras Switch

Anna Richland forwarded me a link to a long video of Rube Goldberg machines built for a Japanese children’s show called Pythagoras Switch. I didn’t want to embed an 18 minute video – that’s like asking you to get caught at work not working, right? But they are SO COOL. So here’s a short one: And, should you feel like feeding your eyes and brain clever visual candy, here’s the link from Anna, which showcases … Continue reading Friday Videos Like Pythagoras Switch

The Rec League: Thanksgiving Romances

The Rec League - heart shaped chocolate resting on the edge of a very old book

I received an email from Abby, who wrote: With the holidays coming up, I was hoping to find a Thanksgiving romance. I know Thanksgiving isn’t as “sexy” as some of the other holidays (full stomachs and such), but it’s my favorite, and I was curious if you knew of any or had any to recommend. I love Thanksgiving. Specifically, I love stuffing (DRESSED UP BREAD. It’s like FORMAL BREAD. It might as well wear a top … Continue reading The Rec League: Thanksgiving Romances

Links and News: Jennifer McQuistion in Sierra Leone, Plus Editing Music and Romance Chocolate

Featured image for Links and News: Jennifer McQuistion in Sierra Leone, Plus Editing Music and Romance Chocolate

Veterinarian and epidemiologist Dr. Jennifer McQuiston works for the CDC, and is currently in Sierra Leone helping to combat the Ebola outbreak there. You might recognize her name because she also writes romance novels. McQuiston's Facebook page is serving as a brief dispatch travelogue as she works there for six weeks.  She was also interviewed for Colorado Public Radio on how scientists detect and combat diseases. (Thank you to Anna Richland for the link.) … I'm … Continue reading Links and News: Jennifer McQuistion in Sierra Leone, Plus Editing Music and Romance Chocolate

SBTB/DA Bestseller

SBTB/DA Bestsellers 7-14 October 2014

This week's bestsellers are brought to you by all the apples I'm eating because apples. And also by the exported analysis of our affiliate sales data.  Unraveled (A Turner Series Book 3) by Courtney Milan A | BN | K (.99c!) (RedHeadedGirl's grade: A) Truly: The New York Series (The New York Trilogy) by Ruthie Knox A | BN | K How to Lose a Duke in Ten Days: An American Heiress in London by Laura … Continue reading SBTB/DA Bestsellers 7-14 October 2014
Hide Your Wallet

Hide Your Wallet: October’s New Releases

As if we don't give you enough opportunites to overload your TBR list, now we're adding one more! In Hide Your Wallet, we'll be talking about the books coming up in the next month that we're most excited about, partly to give the Bitchery a chance to see what we're dying to read and because we want to hear about all the good stuff you fine people are going to snag this month too!    … Continue reading Hide Your Wallet: October’s New Releases

Podcast Transcript 108: An Interview with Carrie Sessarego

Featured image for Podcast Transcript 108: An Interview with Carrie Sessarego

Here is a text transcript of Podcast 108: An Interview with Carrie Sessarego. You can listen to the mp3 here, or you can read on!  This podcast transcript was crafted by hand with locally sourced letters by Garlic Knitter. Many thanks.     [music] Sarah Wendell: Hello and Happy Friday, and welcome to another DBSA podcast. I’m Sarah Wendell from Smart Bitches, Trashy Books, and with me today is Carrie Sessarego, who reviews at Smart … Continue reading Podcast Transcript 108: An Interview with Carrie Sessarego